If You Liked These 2020 Releases, Here Are Twelve 2021 Releases to Add to Your TBR: Part One

A little while ago, I sent out a tweet asking for your favourite 2020 releases and/or reads of 2020 thus far so that I could recommend you some 2021 releases – that I think you’ll like! – to add to your TBR. A few caveats before the recommendations; first of all, I haven’t read the majority of these, so my recommendations are purely based on the information available about the book. Secondly, reading is so subjective – as you’ll see below there are specific elements from the 2020 releases that I chose to focus on.

The books I recommend may not be carbon copies or even all that similar to the 2020 titles but there’s a method to the madness, I promise! Similarly, instead of spending paragraphs explaining why I chose certain books (or dumping a synopsis into the post) I decided to simplify it a little bit – treat it a bit like a menu with ingredients. So, each title has a list of tags which may include: the genre, the representation and tropes.

2020 Favourite from Léa: The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson

tags: science fiction, LGBT (wlw), fantasy, adult, romance, dystopian, gay yearning, slow burn, morally questionable, jerk with a heart of gold

The Darkness Outside Us by Eliot Schrefer
tags: LGBT (mlm), science fiction, young adult, fantasy, romance, space gays, enemies to lovers

The Infinity Courts by Akemi Dawn Bowman
tags: science fiction, young adult, fantasy, period drama but robots, AI, humanity

Gearbreakers by Zoe Hana Mikuta
tags: LGBT (wlw), science fiction, young adult, fantasy, cyberpunk sapphics, found family, renegade girls, tattoos, leather jackets, mecha takedowns

Rise of the Red Hand by Olivia Chadha
tags: science fiction, young adult, climate change, technocratic government, cyberpunk

2020 Favourite from Umairah: Where Dreams Descend by Janella Angeles

tags: fantasy, young adult, romance, retellings, mystery, love triangle, magicians, magic competition

The Mirror Season by Anna-Marie McLemore
tags: young adult, magical realism, fantasy, retellings, LGBT (pan), contemporary, sexual assault, this will wreck you, tragic

Lost in the Never Woods by Aiden Thomas
tags: fantasy, retellings, young adult, mystery, grief, missing children, scary woods

Wings of Ebony by J. Elle
tags: young adult, fantasy, science fiction, mythology, badass mc, breakneck speed, this will wreck you, a must read

A Chorus Rises by Bethany C. Morrow
tags: young adult, fantasy, magical realism, contemporary, mythology, siren powers

2020 Favourite from Eleanor: If We Were Villains by M.L. Rio

tags: adult, mystery/thriller, LGBT (mlm), slow burn, gay yearning, antiheros, theatre nuance, morally grey, dark academia, gothic

Down Comes the Night by Allison Saft
tags: fantasy, young adult, romance, gothic, horror, LGBT (bi mc), dark, Guillermo del toro

Don’t Tell A Soul by Kirsten Miller
tags: young adult, horror, thriller/mystery, gothic, dark, haunting, retellings

What Big Teeth by Rose Szabo
tags: gothic, horror, fantasy, retellings, young adult, body horror, dark, suspenseful

Lakesedge by Lyndall Clipstone
tags: fantasy, young adult, gothic, horror, romance, haunted estates, tortured boys

There are so many excellent releases coming out in 2021 – especially by marginalised authors! I got so many responses to my initial tweet that this is only part one of a new series where I recommend you 2021 releases based on books you loved this year! Over the next two months and even into 2021, I’ll be putting together more posts like these to help you find new books in 2021 that you’ll hopefully love.

Don’t forget if you find an unreleased book that you’re really excited about, one of the best things you can do to support the author is pre-order it!

11 thoughts on “If You Liked These 2020 Releases, Here Are Twelve 2021 Releases to Add to Your TBR: Part One

  1. Omg Finn, this is an amazing post!! I didn’t know Anna-Marie McLemore is going to release a new book in 2021 but I just added it, *and, oh lord, the main character is called CIELA*
    I’m so so excited for some of this, especially Wings of Ebony, The Infinity Courts and Lost in the Never Woods. I can’t wait for the next part of this series! You made a great job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s